A Specular

The following piece is a ‘Specular’ poem. This form was created by Julia Copus – a British poet, children’s novelist, and radio dramatist. It is named after the Latin word for a ‘mirror’ “because the second half of the poem uses the same lines as the first, but in reverse order, as if the whole thing is looking back at itself in a mirror.”

My poem is from the point of view of Sadie Wynn, the main character in Marian Hale’s novel, The Truth About Sparrows. In this piece, the ‘mirror’ is a sea wall. It is written as if Sadie is looking at the wall, thinking about the promise she made to stay best friends with Wilma, her friend from her old home in Missouri.

Promises

I have a promise to keep.

Nobody seems to care.

Taking care of our family comes first,

yes, I get that, but can’t I be selfish when I know it is the right thing for

us.

This beacon of hope is lighting a path for

a brighter future than the one we are stuck with now.

I wish we had something more

than these others, living in tar paper shacks –

we are better,

I am determined to find a way out

of this scorched existence.

I will use my stubborn ways and escape

the sweltering shadow of the sea wall.The Truth About Sparrows Cover

 

The sweltering shadow of the sea wall.

I will use my stubborn ways and escape

of this scorched existence.

I am determined to find a way out,

we are better

than these others, living in tar paper shacks –

I wish we had something more.

A brighter future than the one we are stuck with now.

This beacon of hope is lighting a path for

us.

yes, I get that, but can’t I be selfish when I know it is the right thing, for

Taking care of our family comes first,

Nobody seems to care.

I have a promise to keep.

 


 

For My Students:

FINAL PRESENTATION for your own specular poem:

After you have written and edited your poem, you may then type it on your blog. When putting it on your blog, you must do the following:

  1. Put the ORIGINAL title of your poem in the title section for your blog post
  2. Copy,word for word, my introductory paragraph and put it as the beginning of your post. (Just change the part that talks about what the mirror is to fit your poem). You MUST link Julia Copus’ name to a website about her. To find her site, google: Julia Copus Specular poem, and the first website to show is a good one.
  3. Type your poem
  4. Add a picture to your post (link your picture)
  5. Publish your post
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

